Renew Your Auto Registrations and Dog Licenses Online.
Check it out!

 Online Dog License     Online Car Registrations

Mailing List


Check Out Our Exciting New Economic Development Website!

Stay Connected

twitter logo


Raymond Coalition for Youth


Planning Board 



Proposed Zoning Changes for 2015

Town of Raymond
Planning Board
You are hereby notified that the Raymond Planning Board will hold a public hearing on Thursday December 18, 2014 beginning at 7:00 p.m.  The meeting will be held in the Media Center (library) at Raymond High School; 45 Harriman Hill Road.  The following will be heard:
The Raymond Planning Board is holding a public hearing to present the following amendments to the Raymond Zoning Ordinance, as proposed by the Raymond Planning Board, for public consideration and comment.  A copy of the amendments being considered for placement on the March 2015 ballot is on file at the Town Clerk’s Office, and is available for review during regular office hours.  The following is proposed:
1. To amend the Raymond Zoning Ordinance, as proposed by the Raymond Planning Board by reorganizing and re-codifying the Ordinance in its entirety.  This amendment does not involve the alteration of any existing content, only the location and numbering of the existing content within the Ordinance.

2. To amend the Raymond Zoning Ordinance, as proposed by the Raymond Planning Board by creating a new section, Home Occupations, providing a streamlined review process that allows residents of the Town of Raymond to utilize their homes for non-residential activities. 

3. To amend the Raymond Zoning Ordinance, as proposed by the Raymond Planning Board by revising the definition of the term Conversion Apartment.  The proposed revision creates additional opportunity for owners of single-family dwellings to create separate and independent living space within those dwellings and providing criteria for such conversions.

4. To amend the Raymond Zoning Ordinance, as proposed by the Raymond Planning Board by creating a new zoning district called the Rail Trail Signage District.  This new district would be comprised of two 20-foot deep corridors located on both the north and south sides of the Rockingham Recreational Rail Trail – Portsmouth Branch for the exclusive purpose of establishing an area and requirements for installing signage along the Rail Trail.   

You are invited to attend, or you may submit written comments to:  Town of Raymond, Community Development Department, Office of Planning & Zoning, 4 Epping Street, Raymond, NH 03077.  If you require audio or visual aids, please contact the Selectmen’s Office at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.  If this meeting is postponed for any reason, it will be held on Thursday January 08, 2015 per the above.
The Planning Board is established as authorized under RSA 673:1. The Planning Board, as enumerated in RSA 673:2,II, is composed of 6 elected members.  One Selectman serves as an ex-officio member.  RSA 673:6 notes that up to 5 alternate members may be appointed by the Planning Board, as it is an elected board. The alternates shall assume a seat on the Board in the absence of, or whenever a regular member disqualifies him/herself from a hearing.  The alternate member, to sit for a hearing, is designated by the chairperson of the Planning Board.
The Zoning Board of Adjustment and Conservation Commission may each have a maximum of one Planning Board member that is appointed by the Board of Selectmen.  The Planning Board's responsibility is to "prepare and amend the master plan to guide the development of the community," to "make any investigations, maps and reports, and recommendations which relate to the planning and development of the community." To recommend capital improvements regarding structures and programs and to recommend their financing. "To recommend . . . amendments" to the zoning ordinance or map, and to promote municipal planning within the community.
The Planning Board reviews, and either approves or disapproves, subdivision applications, and is responsible for site plan review for the development, change, or expansion of use of tracts of land for nonreidential or multi-family dwelling units.  The Planning Board meets the first three weeks of the month on Thursday evenings.  Public hearings are scheduled for the first and third weeks of the month, while work sessions are scheduled for the second week of the month.


Online GIS

The Town of Raymond utilizes CAI Technologies to provide online GIS, which can be accessed here.

Regulations & Ordinances:

Regulations and Ordinances can be found here.


Planning Board Agenda - 10/16/2014

2014 Approved Planning Board Minutes
(Draft minutes are available at the Town Clerk's Office)
(meeting cancelled)

Archived Planning Board Minutes






© Town of Raymond, New Hampshire | Site by MoxDog Hosting & Design